2019 Youth Media Awards

John Newberry Medal

For the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.

“Merci Suárez Changes Gears,” written by Meg Medina

Newberry Honor Books

“The Night Diary,” written by Veera Hiranandani     “The Book of Boy,” written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock, illustrated by Ian Schoenherr

Randolph Caldecott Medal

For the most distinguished American picture book for children.

“Hello Lighthouse,” illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall

Caldecott Honor Books

 “Alma and How She Got Her Name,” illustrated and written by Juana Martinez-Neal  “A Big Mooncake for Little Star,” illustrated and written by Grace Lin  “The Rough Patch,” illustrated and written by Brian Lies “Thank You, Omu!” illustrated and written by Oge Mora

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Recognizing African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults.

King Author Award winner

“A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919,” written by Claire Hartfield

King Illustrator Award winner

“The Stuff of Stars,” illustrated by Ekua Holmes, is the King Illustrator Book winner. The book is written by Marion Dane Bauer.

King Author Honor Books

“Finding Langston,” written by Lesa Cline-Ransome  “The Parker Inheritance,” written by Varian Johnson “The Season of Styx Malone,” written by Kekla Magoon

King Illustrator Honor Books

“Hidden Figures,” illustrated by Laura Freeman, written by Margot Lee Shetterly “Let the Children March,” illustrated by Frank Morrison, written by Monica Clark-Robinson  “Memphis, Martin, and the Mountaintop,” illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Alice Faye Duncan

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

To affirm new talent.

Steptoe Author Award winner

“Monday’s Not Coming,” written by Tiffany D. Jackson, is the Steptoe author award winner

Steptoe Illustrator Award winner

“Thank You, Omu!,” illustrated and written by Oge Mora

Schneider Family Book Award

For books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

For Young Children (ages 0 to 10)

“Rescue & Jessica A Life-Changing Friendship,” written by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes, illustrated by Scott Magoon

For Middle Grades (ages 11-13)

“The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle,” written by Leslie Conno

For Teens (ages 13-18)

“Anger Is a Gift,” written by Mark Oshiro

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award

For most distinguished information book for children.

“The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian’s Art Changed Science,” written by Joyce Sidman

Directly sourced from:

" American Library Association announces 2019 youth media award winners", American Library Association, January 28, 2019.

http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2019/01/american-library-association-announces-2019-youth-media-award-winners (Accessed January 28, 2019)

Document ID: 585f81d0-3a45-4946-bbb9-14f1856bb9a3

All cover images borrowed from goodreads.com and the PINES catalog