Scheduled Closings

The System has a number of planned closings throughout the year. Additionally, there are closings that occur due to unforeseen reasons which include but are not limited to bad weather and HVAC problems. In the case of weather closings, the System closes if the Baldwin County public school system close. Unplanned or early closings are posted on our homepage and via social networks. Unless otherwise noted the closing is all day and is for the entire system.

Printable version of 2018 Scheduled Closings.

January 2018

  • Monday, January 01 | New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 15 | Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Tuesday, January 16 – Saturday, January 20 | HVAC Upgrades
    • Mary Vinson Memorial Library closed for HVAC upgrades | Lake Sinclair Library branch remains open

February 2018

  • Monday, February 19 | Presidents’ Day

March 2018

  • Friday, March 30 | Staff Development Day

April 2018

  • Saturday, April 07 | Spring Book Sale

May 2018

  • Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 | Memorial Day & Weekend

July 2018

  • Wednesday, July 04 | Independence Day

August 2018

  • Friday, August 24 | Staff Development Day

September 2018

  • Monday, September 03 | Labor Day
  • Friday, September 21 through Monday, September 24 | Library Fair Weekend
    • Saturday, September 22 | Library Fair | 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM | Regular services will be closed during this event.

October 2018

  • Monday, October 08 | Columbus Day
  • Thursday, October 18 | Mary Vinson Memorial Library will close early at 12:00p
  • Friday, October 19 through Saturday, October 20 | Deep Roots Festival

November 2018

  • Saturday, November 12 | Veterans’ Day
  • Thursday, November 22 through Saturday, November 24 | Thanksgiving Holidays

December 2018

  • Monday, December 24 – Tuesday, December 25 | Winter
  • Monday, December 31 | New Year’s Eve

January 2019

  • Tuesday, January 01 | New Year’s Day

No materials owned and checked out by the System are due on our closing days. However, if you would like to return items during this time please feel free to use the available book drops at the side drive-thru of the Mary Vinson Memorial Library, in front of the Lake Sinclair Library, the Milledgeville Mall, and the Collins P. Lee Harrisburg Community Center.